Kluber Wins AL Cy Young; Kershaw Wins 3rd NL Cy Young in 4 Years - The American Spectator | USA News and Politics
Kluber Wins AL Cy Young; Kershaw Wins 3rd NL Cy Young in 4 Years

Cleveland Indians ace Corey Kluber won his first AL Cy Young Award narrowly beating 2010 AL Cy Young winner Felix Hernandez of the Seattle Mariners while Chicago White Sox lefty Chris Sale finished third in the balloting. (I predicted Sale would win the award prior to the season). Kluber led the AL in wins with 18 and struck out 269 batters in only 235 2/3 innings. 

Meanwhile, to the surprise of no one, Los Angeles Dodgers southpaw Clayton Kershaw won his third NL Cy Young Award in four seasons. Kershaw previously won the award in 2010, 2011 and in 2013. He led the NL in wins (21) and ERA (1.77). Kershaw has won four consecutive ERA titles. In only 198 1/3 innings pitched, Kershaw fanned 239 batters. What is remarkable is that Kershaw missed a month of the season with a bad back which he injured after the season opener in Australia. 

Kershaw beat out Cincinnati Reds righty Johnny Cueto and Adam Wainwright of the St. Louis Cardinals. Both Cueto and Wainwright won 20 games in 2014. Wainwright might be the best pitcher to never win a Cy Young. He finished runner up to Kershaw in NL Cy Young balloting in 2011 and 2013 while finishing third in both 2010 and 2014. 

This probably won’t be the last hardware Kershaw wins. He is a heavy favorite to win the NL MVP tomorrow. He would become the first NL pitcher to win the award since Bob Gibson in 1968. 


Sign Up to receive Our Latest Updates! Register

Notice to Readers: The American Spectator and Spectator World are marks used by independent publishing companies that are not affiliated in any way. If you are looking for The Spectator World please click on the following link: https://spectatorworld.com/.

Memorial Day Sale

50% off

Monthly Subscription Price

Be a Free Market Loving Patriot. Subscribe Today!