About Us

The American Spectator was founded in 1924  by George Nathan and Truman Newberry over a cheap domestic ale in McSorley’s Old Ale House. In 1967, the Saturday Evening Club took it over, rechristening it The Alternative: An American Spectator, but by November 1977 the word “alternative” had acquired such an esoteric fragrance that in order to discourage unsolicited manuscripts from florists, beauticians, and other creative types, the club reverted to the magazine’s original name. Published remarkably without regard to gender, lifestyle, race, color, creed, physical handicap, or national origin.

The American Spectator Foundation educates the public on new ideas, concepts and policies that favor the principles of economic freedom, individual liberty, limited government, and traditional American values. To this end, the Foundation also trains and cultivates young writers for careers in journalism and serves as an outlet for a host of both young and established conservative writers and thinkers.


Editor-in-Chief R. Emmett Tyrrell, Jr.
Editorial Director Wlady Pleszczynski

Managing Editor               Melissa Mackenzie

Editorial Office

The American Spectator
933 N. Kenmore St., Ste. 405
Arlington, VA 22201


The American Spectator LLC
is a subsidiary of
The American Spectator Foundation

President Donald Rieck
Office Manager Daniel DeFonce


Legal Counsel Solitary, Poor, Nasty, Brutish & Short


Subscription Queries
Reprints 703-807-2011
Back Issues 800-524-3469
Development Donald Rieck

Senior Editors

Chief Saloon Correspondent Aram Bakshian Jr.
Economics Editor Brian Wesbury
Paris Bureau Joseph A. Harriss
Movie and Culture Critic James Bowman
Senior Editorial Advisor Robert L. Bartley (1937–2003)

Contributing Editors

Art Direction/Production Jeffrey P. Macharyas
Kapellmeister Baron Von Kannon (1949-2015)


Send this to friend