Abreu, deGrom Named AL, NL Rookies of the Year - The American Spectator | USA News and Politics
Abreu, deGrom Named AL, NL Rookies of the Year

Chicago White Sox first baseman Jose Abreu easily beat out Los Angeles Angels pitcher Matt Shoemaker and New York Yankees reliever Dellin Betances.

The Cuban slugger was a bright spot in an otherwise dismal year for the Chisox. Abreu hit .317 with 36 HR and 107 RBI and led the AL in slugging percentage with .581. He is the first White Sox player to win the honor since Ozzie Guillen in 1985.

Meanwhile, New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom won NL Rookie of the Year honors. This is the first time a Mets player to win the honor in 30 years when Dwight Gooden graced the mound at Shea Stadium. The Mets did not call up deGrom until mid-May, but in 22 starts he went 9-6 with a 2.69 ERA. In 140 1/3 innings pitched, deGrom fanned 144 batters while walking only 43. The 23-year old deGrom beat out St. Louis Cardinals second baseman Kolten Wong and Cincinnati Reds outfielder Billy Hamilton (who I picked to win the award prior to the start of the season). 

Imagine what the Mets will be like with deGrom in the rotation for a full season along with a returning Matt Harvey, Zack Wheeler, Noah Syndergaard and veteran Bartolo Colon. Don’t be surprised if deGrom contends for the NL Cy Young next season. It is worth remembering that Gooden followed up his rookie campaign with a Cy Young Award trophy. Can deGrom do the same?


Sign Up to receive Our Latest Updates! Register

Notice to Readers: The American Spectator and Spectator World are marks used by independent publishing companies that are not affiliated in any way. If you are looking for The Spectator World please click on the following link: https://spectatorworld.com/.

Be a Free Market Loving Patriot. Subscribe Today!