Members to Watch - The American Spectator | USA News and Politics
Members to Watch

I’ve done an analysis of Saturday’s roll call votes, and I’ve found that there were 42 members of the House who voted both in favor of the Stupak amendment to bar taxpayer funding for abortions and in favor of the main bill. The reason why I’ve focused on these members is that clearly, Speaker Nancy Pelosi couldn’t have won passage of health care legislation had the House not adopted pro-life language. The names below are all of those who voted in favor of both measures, with an asterik next to those who were considered undecided on the morning of the vote. To be clear, many of these members would have supported the health care bill no matter what. However, given the 220-215 vote margin on Saturday night’s vote, what it means is that if the pro-life language is stripped from the bill during negotiations with the Senate, if Pelosi loses the support of any three of these people below as a result — without picking up anybody else’s support — the bill cannot pass the House.

Joe Baca
Marion Berry*
Sanford Bishop
Dennis Cardoza*
Chris Carney*
Jim Cooper*
Jim Costa*
Joseph Cao*
Jerry Costello
Henry Cuellar*
Kathy Dahlkemper
Joe Donnelly*
Mike Doyle
Steve Driehaus*
Brad Ellsworth*
Bob Etheridge*
Baron Hill
Paul Kanjorski*
Marcy Kaptur*
Dale Kildee
Jim Langevin
Daniel Lipinski
Stephen Lynch
Michael Michaud*
Alan Mollohan
John Murtha
Richard Neal
James Oberstar
David Obey
Solomon Ortiz
Tom Perriello*
Earl Pomeroy
Nick Rahall
Silvestre Reyes
Ciro Rodriguez*
Tim Ryan
John Salazar
Vic Synder
Zack Space*
John Spratt
Bart Stupak*
Charles Wilson

Sign up to receive our latest updates! Register

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: The American Spectator, 122 S Royal Street, Alexandria, VA, 22314, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

Be a Free Market Loving Patriot. Subscribe Today!