Houses Passes Strong Ban on Taxpayer Funding of Abortion - The American Spectator | USA News and Politics
Houses Passes Strong Ban on Taxpayer Funding of Abortion

The House just passed the “No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act” — which, as its title suggests, is a federal government-wide ban on taxpayer funding of elective abortion, not limited to the funding streams touched by the Hyde Amendment rider — by 251 to 175. The bill would also bar federal funds from going to insurance policies subsidized by the Obamacare insurance exchanges, Stupak-style. Sixteen Democrats voted yes and zero Republicans voted no, although there were apparently some who didn’t vote.

UPDATE: According to the roll call, these are the 16 Democrats who broke with their party to cast the pro-life vote:

Altmire (PA)

Boren (OK)

Costello (IL)

Critz (PA)

Cuellar (TX)

Donnelly (IN)

Holden (PA)

Kaptur (OH)

Kildee (MI)

Lipinski (IL)

Matheson (UT)

McIntyre (NC)

Peterson (MN)

Rahall (WV)

Ross (AR)

Shuler (NC)

Note that this includes people who bailed with Bart Stupak, including Costello, Donnelly, and Kaptur, putative members of the Stupak Dozen who voted for the health care bill, as well as Kildee, a pro-life Democrat who undercut Stupak by vouching for the “segregation of funds” approach to keeping Obamacare from paying for abortion. It also includes Lipinski, a Stupak Dem who held firm against the health care bill, and Democrats like Altmire, Boren, Ross, and Shuler who opposed the bill for a variety of reasons, not limited to the abortion funding language.

Sign up to receive our latest updates! Register

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: The American Spectator, 122 S Royal Street, Alexandria, VA, 22314, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

Be a Free Market Loving Patriot. Subscribe Today!