The Spectacle Blog

Spurs Win 5th NBA Title in 15 Years

By on 6.15.14 | 11:47PM

Congratulations to the San Antonio Spurs for winning their 5th NBA Championship. They beat the Miami Heat 104-87 on Sunday night to win the series in five games. The Spurs avenged their loss to the Heat in the NBA Finals a year ago.

Head coach Gregg Popovich and Tim Duncan have been in San Antonio for all five titles. Tony Parker and Manu Ginobili have earned their fourth NBA championships. The Spurs won their first NBA title in 1999 and won three more in 2003, 2005, and 2007. 
This year was probably their last chance as the 38-year old Duncan becomes a free agent while Popovich is 65 and may be contemplating retirement. In an era of flash and trash talk, the Spurs have been champions by simply going about their business and outplaying everyone else. The Spurs might very well be the most unheralded championship team in all of professional sports.

Like this Article

Print this Article

Print Article