The Spectacle Blog

Senate Votes to Begin Considering Immigration Bill

By on 6.11.13 | 6:03PM

The Senate voted today overwhelmingly, by a margin of 82-15, to move ahead with the immigration reform bill (S. 744). Now floor debate and new amendments can proceed, increasing the chances of the bill's survival now that it avoided procedural roadblocks.

It was a fairly bi-partisan vote, with 30 Republicans voting yes. They include:

Jeff Flake (Ariz.), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Lindsey Graham (S.C.), Mitch McConnell (Ky.), John Cornyn (Texas), Kelly Ayotte (N.H.) Deb Fischer (Neb.), Rob Portman (Ohio), John Thune (S.D.), Orrin Hatch (Utah), Jeff Chiesa (N.J.), Roger Wicker (Miss.), Pat Toomey (Pa.), Lamar Alexander (Tenn.), John Hoeven (N.D.), Richard Burr (N.C.), Rand Paul (Ky.), Susan Collins (Maine), Jerry Moran (Kan.), Roy Blunt (Mo.), Dan Coats (Ind.), Dean Heller (Nev.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), Bob Corker (Tenn.), Mike Johanns (Neb.), Johnny Isakson (Ga.), Tom Coburn (Okla.) Saxby Chambliss (Ga.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska) and Chuck Grassley (Iowa).

Some positive vibes came from the House side, too, with Speaker John Boehner saying he thinks the House will have a bill out of the Judiciary Committee “by the end of June” in an ABC interview. When asked whether the House version will include a path to citizenship, he dodged the question.

“It's not about what I want,” Boehner said. “It's about what the House wants.”

Send to Kindle

Like this Article

Print this Article

Print Article