The Spectacle Blog

CMS Official Confirms That Four States Have Been Granted ObamaCare Waivers

By on 2.16.11 | 9:24AM

An Obama administration official on Wednesday confirmed that four states -- including Florida, Tennessee and Ohio -- have been granted waivers from the regulatory requirements of the national health care law.

Steve Larsen, director of the Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight (CCIIO) at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, confirmed the news under questioning from Rep. Cliff Stearns at an oversight hearing for the House Energy and Commerce committee.

According to Larsen, the waivers have been granted to states that have programs allowing or requiring the kind of limited medical coverage plans that would otherwise be prohibited by ObamaCare. He said the waivers are good for one year and would not neccesarily apply to all plans in the states outside the state-based programs.

While he said there was also a fourth state that was granted a waiver, he could not recall off the top of his head which state.

UPDATE: The fourth state is New Jersey.

Like this Article

Print this Article

Print Article