The Spectacle Blog

The DADT Six

By on 12.18.10 | 1:10PM

Here are the six Republican senators who voted to repeal "Don't Ask, Don't Tell":

Scott Brown (R-MA)

Susan Collins (R-ME)

Olympia  Snowe (R-ME)

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)

Mark Kirk (R-IL)

George Voinovich (R-OH)

Only Voinovich, who is usually more conservative on social issues than economics, was a surprise to me.

UPDATE: Two more Republicans voted for the final passage of DADT: Sens. John Ensign (R-NV) and Richard Burr (R-NC), both surprises. The initial post referred to the six Republicans who voted to advance repeal by invoking cloture. All six voted for final passage.

Like this Article

Print this Article

Print Article

More Articles From W. James Antle III